40 Days In: What Do I Notice?

I am a solid 40 days into my 100-Day Challenge. Today’s class will be Day-41. I haven’t gone much past 40-ish days since doing my 66-Day challenge. I’m looking forward to seeing what this all brings.

But for now, I would like to comment on what all this yoga seems to be doing for me. Yes, I’ve gone 40-days in a row, but I’ve also just been going to class most days for almost a year now. And I have to say, I have noticed some improvements on and off the mat. These include:

  • My stupid triangle is getting better. Unfortunately, this means I have to hold it longer because I can. I am not yet consistent in my triangle, but I can tell that I am improving in terms of being able to sit my hips down lower and hold it longer.
Getting better...

Getting better…

  • I am getting good at evaluating why I want to come out of a posture and considering if it’s a good idea or not. For example, if I get a cramp then yes, that’s a time to come out of a posture. But what if I am just uncomfortable? Not uncomfortable in a bad way (physically) but in a mental one? Do I really need to come out of a posture because I don’t like the way I mentally or emotionally feel? No, I don’t. I can stay. When my brain tells me to come out of a posture I rarely pop right out. I ask myself why and do a quick scan. Usually I end up staying.

 

  • I am improving at not reacting. I am OK with just sitting with something. Case in point – I recently found myself upset. I acknowledged I was upset, but I wasn’t ready to respond to the situation. I realized I needed to sit with it all for the rest of the day – maybe even two! – before I would be ready to do something. I am getting better at sitting with my feelings be they happy, sad, angry, whatever, and letting them be. I don’t try to change them or prolong them. I attribute this to my ability to start evaluating – and not react – to my need/desire to come out of postures.

Overall, I’m very pleased with how things are going. I would like to stress that I don’t think it’s this specific challenge or that I’ve done 40-Days again that have gotten me here. It’s everything combined from the moment I first started practicing. Everything comes together in it’s own way at it’s own time.

Three Years Ago Today on MBYL

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Mar 09, 2015 @ 08:22:47

    40 days in to my 100-day challenge: http://t.co/ofUokH1qJH #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Mar 09, 2015 @ 10:07:05

    40 Days In: What Do I Notice? http://t.co/Mdu1uq9Jf6

    Reply

Leave a Reply

