This Challenge Sucks

There I was – Day 54. It was the kind of day where I really, really wished I was not doing a challenge. I didn’t want to be there. I didn’t want to have to show up. I just wanted to curl up and take a nap. At home. This challenge totally sucked as far as I was concerned.

I was exhausted in every sense of the word. But of course, there I was at the 3:00 class on a Sunday. Had to get my yoga in. Can’t stop the challenge because I am tired and don’t want to be at the studio. Those are not reasons. Those would be excuses.

Of course I knew that I shouldn’t have any preconceptions about what class would be like, and I really didn’t. I didn’t worry that it would be awful or fantastic or anything in between. I was too tired. I fell easily into acceptance for what lay ahead.

I stood up on my mat like a good little trooper when the first breathing exercise started. And then it hit me. It was going to be one of those classes.

Sending love and some sucky classes your way.

Sending love and some sucky classes your way.

Thanks Universe.

We were about halfway through the first set of the first breathing exercise when I realized I was ready to sit down. I just didn’t see how it was going to be possible to get through it all. It also didn’t seem possible to sit on my mat for the whole class. Nothing seemed possible.

But I hung in there. I made it to the second set of eagle before I started going down – and believe me, I felt triumphant to have gotten that far.

Then, class was a blur. I sort of did the standing series. Sort of. Even when I did a posture it wasn’t very good, but it was probably all I had to give at the moment. The floor series wasn’t much better either.

And yet, the weirdest thing was that as I progressed through class I felt less and less exhausted. By the end of class I felt much more awake and alert. Not enough to do another class or anything, but I felt so much better (and a lot less grumpy!).

Of course this challenge has it days when it completely and totally sucks. Anyone who’s ever done a challenge knows that! That’s why it’s a challenge. Engaging and pushing forward is difficult. It would have been easier to take a nap on the couch.

Following through with going to class? Hard.

Worth pushing through? Definitely.

Three Years Ago Today on MBYL

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Mar 23, 2015 @ 07:46:56

    The day I decided my challenge sucked! http://t.co/FsRJs8IS3W #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. Bill Affourtit (@waffourt)
    Mar 23, 2015 @ 09:06:22

    This Challenge Sucks – http://t.co/o2CPXvD1Hk via @shareaholic

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Apr 16, 2015 @ 06:17:43

    This Challenge Sucks http://t.co/FsRJs8rgFm #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

