Yoga, Party of Two

Just a little under a year ago, I had a yoga class where I was the only student. Well, last week, it came close to happening again. The situation was almost identical to the year before. I arrived to class straight from my office getting there shortly after 4:00 for a 4:30 class. I was the first person there, but that didn’t seem strange given my early arrival.

I was tired on this day. It was Day 77/100, and I thought I would just take a nap before class started. But before I did, I realized that class might just be me and the one other person who showed up. And it was.

It's a yoga party!

It’s a yoga party!

We agreed to keep the fans off, and honestly they were never needed. At the end of class the ratio was 106/33% so it was fine (but I think we all sweated all over the place!). The instructor joined us and did a silent class. Those are fun.

Despite how much fun these classes can be, I had some concerns. With only two other people practicing alongside me I felt the need to do as much as I could if not more. But I wasn’t sure what all I had to bring to the table. After all, the 70’s have been very unpredictable in terms of what they bring. I really didn’t want to be dying on the floor.

Thankfully, I pulled through it. However, I would like to add that while the 70’s are only a period of 10 days they seemed more like 1000. Seriously, how can the last 30 classes be so damn hard? I keep thinking I should feel like I am on easy street but time seems to be moving backwards. The first 30 classes were nothing. But ever since I have hit class 50 it has been all kinds of different struggles. Some days I don’t want to show up. Other days I don’t want to do the postures. Other days I am flat on my back praying for death. I am thankful when I have a class that is just OK. Really – I am happy to have and will gratefully accept a mediocre class.

But now I am in the 80’s and although I have less than 20 days to go until I hit my mark it’s not seeming like it’s going to get there anytime soon. But if this wasn’t challenging me then what would be the point, right? I signed on for a challenge and I am in the thick of it.

Three Years Ago Today on MBYL

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Years Ago Today on MBYL

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mark Quast (@do_the_posture)
    Apr 20, 2015 @ 06:57:03

    Keep going @LeighAHall !!
    Push through!!
    http://t.co/72bIeujXAb

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    May 01, 2015 @ 19:30:01

    #Yoga, party of two: http://t.co/ActCCqjpdT #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    May 03, 2015 @ 15:30:15

    Yoga, Party of Two – http://t.co/ActCCqjpdT

    Reply

Leave a Reply

