Yoga Without Apologies

Last week, I discussed how my 100-Day challenge had two themes running through it. The first was my being more aware of why I was/was not staying in postures. Today, I want to talk about the second theme which is yoga without apologies.

During my challenge, I realized that for years I have been apologizing about my yoga practice. Here are some examples:

  • I’m sorry. Can we meet at 1:00 instead of 11:00? I’m going to yoga in the morning.
  • I’m sorry. I can’t attend X event as I will be at yoga.
  • I’m sorry. I will have to leave X event slightly early. I have to get to yoga.
  • I’m sorry. Going out for breakfast doesn’t really work for me. It messes up my yoga practice (because I will eat like a pig).

Now, let me be clear. I’m not shirking my responsibilities or missing out on really fun stuff in order to get my yoga in. I’m not doing yoga at all costs. I’m getting my practice in and I’m working my life in alongside it. Sometimes I choose to not attend things because doing so would mean I couldn’t get to yoga. But I evaluated my choice and decided the yoga was the better option.

At some point during my challenge, I became extra aware that I was doing this apologizing this. I was aware that I was apologizing for having a practice and taking care of myself! Why? Why should I feel guilty and why do people need to know that I’m at yoga anyways? It’s generally not their business.

sorrySo I stopped apologizing for my practice. I caught myself recently. I was planning on going to the 9:00 am class, but I needed to have a skype meeting with someone. I had suggested 12:30, but he asked if it could be 11:30. I thought hmmmm…..got to get home, shower, and walk the dog. 11:30 is pushing it. Instead of saying, “I’m sorry, but I’m coming back from yoga and blah, blah, blah,” I just said, “How about 11:45?” Because really, I just needed a slight bit more time to get ready. And you know what? Everything was just fine.

I go to yoga because I love to go to yoga. I do it for myself. Yeah, I go a lot. But some people run everyday or walk everyday or do some kind of exercise everyday. Technically, I’m not very special here. But am I going to apologize for my practice? No, I am not.

I do my yoga for myself, and I do it with no apologies.

 

Three Years Ago Today on MBYL

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: FIFA 15 Coins
  2. Trackback: RunescapeGold2007
  3. Trackback: RunescapeGold2007
  4. Trackback: Runescape Gold
  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    May 25, 2015 @ 19:30:16

    Do your yoga. Don’t apologize. http://t.co/wEOIcObfZp #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  6. Trackback: cheap jordans for sale
  7. Trackback: cheap jordans
  8. Trackback: RS Gold
  9. Trackback: jordan 72-10 11
  10. Trackback: jordan 11 72-10
  11. Mark Quast (@do_the_posture)
    May 29, 2015 @ 15:39:34

    “I do my yoga for myself, and I do it with no apologies.”

    http://t.co/HDOI08cFF8

    By @LeighAHall
    “Find your edge and push.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

