The End of the Line

Once I hit my 100-Day mark, a common question I got was: Did you take a break/Are you going to keep going?

My answer was, no, I did not take a break. Yes, I would keep going until for some reason I cannot come to class.

Well, that day came sooner than I expected. On Day 109 (May 16th) I showed up and took the 9:00 am class. About five minutes after I had left the studio they had an absolutely horrible thing happen. A sprinkler head busted letting loose about 2000 gallons of water. The studio was obviously shut down for massive repairs.

The studio is currently projected to open on Thursday, May 28th. Assuming it does, it will mean I went 11 days without class.

I googled, "What does 2000 gallons of water look like?" and got this.

I googled, “What does 2000 gallons of water look like?” and got this.

Yes, of course I could go to another studio. I live kinda dead center between two Bikram studios. But honestly I do not feeling like paying 80.00 for a five day class pass at another studio (yep. that’s what it costs). I’d rather just not go. But it’s not like I’m sitting around doing nothing. I’ve taken advantage of this time to do something different. I am hiking my booty off.

I used to be super into hiking, and I used to have a pedometer. About a month ago, I decided to get another one and ended up with a Fitbit Charge. I love it, and I’m totally geeked out on it.

During my time away from the studio, I’ve been going on 90 minute – two hour hikes on different trails around town in the morning and then walking 30-45 minutes more after dinner (plus walking the dog four times a day). This has gotten me up to about eight miles a day but sometimes as much at 10!

I’ve enjoyed having something different to do, but I miss my yoga. In the last three or so days of my challenge, I had gotten to the point where I could kick out my right leg fully in SH2K. You know that’s probably not gonna be the case when I get back to the studio!

I obviously could have kept going to class had I been willing to shell out the money at a neighboring studio, but it just wasn’t worth it to me. I’m happy with my choice, and I’m looking forward to seeing what happens when I get back in there.

One of my Yoga Buddies, The Yoga Princess, recently posted this on her FB page:

Life will always happen. We can’t change or control that. The good news is that we CAN control our attitudes and reactions. Smiling and feeling happy will make your day better and it will brighten the lives of people around you.

Life happened. It happened in a really bad way for my studio. Let’s at least be as kind as we can to ourselves and each other.

Three Years Ago Today on MBYL

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bill Affourtit (@waffourt)
    May 25, 2015 @ 07:16:55

    The End of the Line – http://t.co/z0weHzOWsO via @shareaholic

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Back in the Saddle :: My Bikram Yoga Life
  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jun 05, 2015 @ 05:19:42

    The End of the Line http://t.co/O2h6RNGa5f #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

