Back in the Saddle

In my last post, I explained how my studio had been shut down to a sprinkler head exploding. Well, great news! It’s back open. It opened up again last Thursday, and you can believe I was at the 9:00 am class. I had gone 11 days without yoga.

So, what was class like? And what was it like to go to class having done 109 days on and 11 days off?

DIVINE

Class felt so good and wonderful and amazing. I was tight though. I think most of us were. My hamstrings had gotten really tight, but not as bad as I thought they would be. I was almost able to fully kick out on my right side in SH2K and still could on my left. However, I can’t go any farther in SH2K on my left side at the moment except to kick out. My hamstring is tight, and kicking out feels so good. I just need to stay there and hold it like that for awhile (which is what I’m doing).

breaktimeThe other thing I learned from my 11 days off is that having a break was a good thing. Yep. You heard me right. Now, I don’t think I needed 11 days off (I’m getting ready to take about that much time off again for a vacation soon). But I do think taking a couple of days off after my 100-Day challenge could have been a good thing. There’s a part of me that sees the benefit in going 5-6 days a week and having 1-2 days off. Then there’s the part of me that, while I totally recognize the benefit of taking a mindful day or two off each week, knows that I will totally keep going to class every day until I hit my vacation.

But even though I may not listen to myself, I do want to put in a good word for taking a mindful day off (or two) each week. Sometimes these days are forced on us based on our schedules and life events, and sometimes we could simply choose to take a day off. I think in both cases we can be mindful of our days outside the hot room even if it’s not our choice to have to miss class.

For example, I know that this week I have painters coming to my house and that they will be here for two full days. I don’t know when they will start, but I know it won’t be Monday. So I will mindfully choose to go to class on Monday. Once I know when they are coming, and once I know their schedule and what I need to do in relation to it, I may find that I have to miss a class. Since I don’t want to miss a lot of classes in a given week, I can know that I will attend classes the other days of the week, and I can acknowledge the day that I need to (potentially) miss. And that’s ok.

Make sense?

Let’s remember to be kind to ourselves. Push ourselves appropriately, and take breaks mindfully.

Three Years Ago Today on MBYL

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Halfmooning (@halfmooning)
    Jun 01, 2015 @ 15:39:25

    RT @LeighAHall: Getting back to class! http://t.co/24KitlUrbv #bikramyoga

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jun 05, 2015 @ 09:30:15

    Getting back to class! http://t.co/24KitlUrbv #bikramyoga

    Reply

Leave a Reply

