I Can Do Anything

Guess what? I can do anything, and so can you. Know why? Because we practice Bikram yoga! Seriously, think how challenging and difficult it is some days just to stay in that room, and yet we do it all the time for 90 minutes each time! And I’m telling you this because the next time you find yourself stuck in a situation that seems impossible/difficult/scary for whatever reason, you can remind yourself that you are strong. You can remember that this practice has made you the strong.

I realized this a couple of weeks ago when I found myself back in the dentist’s office. Last summer, I cracked a tooth and had to get it pulled. That wonderful journey is still not done yet. The whole process takes about a year. Now I’m at the point where I have had my implant put in, it has healed, and I needed to get a crown. If you’ve been through this process, you might wonder what happened to my temporary crown. Long story short, I got to skip that event and just go straight to the actual crown.

For this event, I had to go to my dentist who was going to make an impression to get the crown made. That was all that was supposed to happen.

But of course that is not all that happened.

One of my teeth next to my empty space had a filling on the side that needed to be shaved down a bit. So, the dentist explained that he was going to numb me and shave it down – with a drill.

I am terrified of the dentist. I use the one that I do not just because he’s good but because I can be sedated when he is drilling. But of course there would be no sedation today.

After a bit of back and forth (because I really didn’t want to do this while awake), he explained to me that it would take all of 90 seconds to do.

rp_Camel-Benefits-II-300x300.jpgHmmm….90 seconds….I can do anything for 90 seconds, right? I mean, stupid camel isn’t even 90 seconds and I sometimes do that. I can’t even remember the last time I left the yoga room during class, and if I did it was probably because I was sick or something…..so I can stay in that hot room for 90 minutes even when I am having a miserable, hard, no-good day. I even practiced when my tooth was cracked, infected, and I was in pain before I could get to the dentist. That was pretty horrid.

I am scared of drilling going on in my mouth. I recognized that fear, recognized that this was something I was going to have to do, and came to the conclusion that doing anything for 90 seconds was actually a piece of cake compared to yoga.

So I did it. I mean, I kinda had to anyways, but I calmed myself down. I found a spot on the wall, just like I am told to do in camel, focused on it, and breathed. And I remembered to breathe through my nose because it will keep me calm. Who knew yoga had this many skills I could apply in a dentist’s office?

I got through it. It was not fun at all. But I did it. I remembered I was strong. I remembered that my practice had helped me get strong. And your practice has done the same for you.

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

Three Years Ago Today on MBYL

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jun 10, 2015 @ 09:00:37

    I can do anything (and so can you)! http://t.co/slq3th2ngp #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jun 24, 2015 @ 00:09:56

    I Can Do Anything http://t.co/gtbpmrS8Tw #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

