Retro Throwback: Find Your Yoga

On Sundays, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago.

Recently, I came across this inspiring site called Find Your Yoga. The site and practice is run by Szymon and is based in India. Part of Szymon’s work is offering yoga classes for the blind and visually impaired for free at a vocational center. This short video provides you an overview of what Szymon does and how it benefits his students.

You can read more about the center here. If you scroll down, you will be able to read about some of the students Syzmon has worked with and how they have benefitted from having a yoga practice. Numerous articles have been written about Syzmon’s work and it’s benefits (see here and here).

When I read through these sites, I was so moved by the work that Szymon was doing. I was also struck by how little it costs to support one yoga class. On his site, Syzmon writes:

The suggested amount, to facilitate one class, is USD 10. Your gift helps sponsor instruction time for up to eight blind youths, transport and purchase of supplies (such as yoga mats and mosquito repellents).

He also noted that initially they didn’t even have mats. Students simply practiced on the ground outside. I think this only highlights both his and his students commitment to wanting to have and maintain a yoga practice.

Folks, I want us to support this practice. I want us to support what Syzmon does for his students, and I want us to support them in their practice. If 100 of us gave 10.00 (the suggested minimum donation) we could have a massive impact. What can you go without this week so that Syzmon and his students can have one yoga class?

Here are things I can go without:

(a) buying soda at the university store

(b) bringing my lunch from home instead of buying it at work

(c) a trip out to eat lunch or dinner

These are all things that I like to do each week, but I can let them go this week and instead drop 50.00 into the donation bucket which is what I am doing to get this party started.

Can you join me?

I want to make this donation process as simple as possible, and I want you to know that the money is going directly to Syzmon. After giving it much thought, I have decided to forgo taking donations on my blog (and passing them on to Syzmon) and instead encouraging you to go directly to his site and donate there. The donation box can be found in the upper right hand corner.

I hope you will join me.

 

Leave a Reply

