Good Reason to Skip Class….

I know. Around here I am always touting the benefits of going to class. In fact, up until recently, my one major rule had been that if I am well enough to drive myself to class then I should go to class. But then I realized there were some caveats to that guideline.

A couple of weeks ago, I took my smiling, happy face to the 9:00 class. I came home, showered, and proceeded to make myself a sandwich. This was supposed to be a tomato/mozzarella/pesto deal. I had gotten a mozzarella ball a few days ago, and it was getting pretty thin. As I started to slice into it, I had a conversation with myself about how I needed to be careful because otherwise I would slice my finger.

And then I proceeded to slice into my finger.

It was my left index finger, and it hurt. I’d never cut myself like this before (and truthfully, it wasn’t even as bad as it could have been). I wrapped a tissue around it and raced up the stairs to the bathroom frantically looking for bandages. When I got to the bathroom I was stunned. The tissue was soaked in blood.

Crap. I bet this is going to need stitches.

Fast forward about 45 minutes later. I am sitting in the doctor’s office with gauze wrapped around my finger. The darn thing still won’t stop bleeding if I let up on it. It’s not getting any better.

But the good news was I didn’t need stitches. It wasn’t that bad. The doctor glued it together (with glue!), put some bandages on it, and off I went. I just had to keep it dry for the rest of the day. I also got to get a tetanus shot which hurt.

That night, my left arm, where I had gotten the shot, was really hurting. The next day, my arm still hurt, but I got my happy butt up and went to yoga. I was convinced that the only real issues were going to be doing cobra and locust. I didn’t want to put any pressure on my finger. So what if I couldn’t do a couple of postures for a couple of days? I should still go to class.

And I was right – as far as my finger goes. The finger didn’t really present an issue for me. What I had underestimated was that stupid tetanus shot.

My arm hurt so bad I couldn’t do half-tortoise. I could not raise my arm up that high. But really, any time I had to raise my arms at all it was very painful, and I couldn’t keep them up that long. Do you have any idea how much arm raising there is in Bikram yoga? OMG. So much arm raising. It hurt to raise my arm AND it hurt to lower it. It hurt going both ways. So lovely.

I really should have stayed home. For once, I don’t think showing up to class did me any good. The next day, my arm was still tender, and some of the postures still hurt, but I could at least get into all of them without being in a decent deal of pain.

Lesson learned, but learned a bit too late. The truth is, I rolled out of bed and went into yoga. If I’d gone to a later class I would have figured out how much pain my arm really was in and better understood what it could (and mostly could not) handle that day.

Always listen to your body, and don’t feel bad if you think it is in your best interest to take a day off.

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

Three Years Ago Today on MBYL

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jul 13, 2015 @ 09:30:21

    Perfectly good reason to skip yoga….http://t.co/sytE9G6ovl #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. Bill Affourtit (@waffourt)
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 11:15:36

    Good Reason to Skip Class…. – http://t.co/eqMZgUDgJS via @shareaholic

    Reply

Leave a Reply

