Retro Throwback: Limiting Postures

On Sundays, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago.

Awhile back, I hurt my lower back. And it was my belief that I had pulled a lower back muscle.  It made sense. I had all the signs and symptoms of a pulled muscle and nothing else.

But my massage therapist didn’t agree. He checked it out and said he didn’t think I had pulled anything. However, he couldn’t offer an explanation for what I might have done.

Then I went to acupuncture. Since no one understood what my real issue was, my acupuncturist just treated it the best he could based on what I could tell him. About six hours after my treatment, I was in yoga doing wind removing pose.

We were in the third part of the first set where you bring both knees into your chest. I wasn’t in any pain, but something in me said I needed to come out early so I did. As I released, there was a very loud and satisfying popping sound that went off. Something had just realigned. I felt like I was in heaven.

That was a normal sound, right?

My acupuncturist is also a certified yoga teacher. When I explained all this to him it made sense. He said I had likely popped my SI Joint out of place. Turns out, when your SI Joint is out of place the symptoms you experience can mirror those of a pulled back muscle. He had me lay on my stomach.

“Does this hurt?” he asked pressing me down on me.

“Yes!”

“That’s your SI Joint.”

“Are you going to stick a needle in it?”

“Of course.”

How lovely for me.

So I got the problem figured out, and I eventually got to a place where doing postures wasn’t painful anymore. I could do sit-ups. I was back to working on SH2K and so on. But after three or four days of doing all this, I started to experience back pain again. Not so much in class while I was doing the postures, but outside of class in regular activities.

See, when I had pain in class I could use it as a marker to determine how far I could go. Without the marker, I thought it meant I could just do whatever. I was wrong. I wasn’t fully healed yet, but I also wasn’t sure what to do. How was I supposed to know when I could some of these postures? How was I supposed to know when I was fully healed?

My massage therapist had the answer for me.  He told me no sit-ups, no rabbit, and no SH2K for six months. Basically, January. He also told me to focus on resting more. He explained it like this:

You need to rest. Really think about resting and how you rest. Because I know you, and your idea of a rest is other people’s idea of exercise.

The guy knows me. What can I say? But I did agree to not doing those postures for six months. I mean, I do them at little bit. I at least balance on one leg in SH2K. I don’t do sit-ups at all. I set up rabbit and go down, but I don’t lift up my hips. And it’s paying off.  The pain I had been experiencing in my daily activities is gone. I know this is what I need to do.

And while it might seem frustrating not to be able to do these things (I mean, I do love SH2K), it really isn’t. It was frustrating way back when I first hurt myself, but I’m over all that now. I’m going with the flow and accepting class for what it is. I can’t force anything. I know that.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Bill Affourtit (@waffourt)
    Jul 19, 2015 @ 06:39:35

    Retro Throwback: Limiting Postures – http://t.co/f5dmyRNyIW via @shareaholic

    Reply

Leave a Reply

