Retro Throwback: Maybe Camel Is OK

On Sundays, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago.

I am going to have to own up to the fact that there are things far worse in life than doing stupid camel. I am also going to have to own up to the fact that maybe camel has actually taught me a thing or two.

Recently, I came down with a no good, horrible, very bad toothache. It was a tooth that, five years ago, had a root canal and a crown put on it. When I went to the dentist, the x-ray showed nothing. We agreed that in all likelihood it was cracked. It was going to need to come out and so off to the oral surgeon I went.

Before I could totally skip out of the dentist’s office though, he wanted to make an impression of my lower teeth (the tooth in question was on the top). Now, I’m in pain here. I showed up to the dentist first thing in the morning unable to talk without crying. I’m not exaggerating. I hate getting impressions done, but they needed it for whatever reason. No choice.

I told you I was awesome.

To conquer this moment, I found a spot on the wall to focus on. I actually said to myself, “Find someplace on the wall to look at just like you would in camel. Crap. Camel? Has camel just taught me something? Stupid camel.” But that’s what I did. I found my spot on the wall like I would in camel and breathed through it. It was fine. I even managed to relax a bit.

Then I got to skip on down to the oral surgeon who also thought the tooth was cracked. It needed to come out. Great. Once I understood the procedural aspects of it all can you guess what the first question was I asked? Right – Once the tooth is pulled, how long until I can get back to yoga?

He said I could literally go back the next day if I felt up to it, but he thought I probably wouldn’t be hydrated enough to do so. Good call on that one. Also, my car decided to blow up on July 2nd and I couldn’t get it back until the afternoon of the 5th so that pretty much just knocked yoga out for four days straight. But as soon as I get my car I will be back in class.

So for now, I’ve learned that camel may not be so bad. Yes, I hate doing it, but having a massive toothache is much worse. Plus, camel has also taught me how to focus in on things and breathe when I am uncomfortable so maybe it is ok. But the Universe? My friend the Universe still pretty much sucks what with the toothache and the car blowing up and what not.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Bill Affourtit (@waffourt)
    Jul 26, 2015 @ 19:18:20

    Retro Throwback: Maybe Camel Is OK – http://t.co/D9CoutvDQ7 via @shareaholic

    Reply

Leave a Reply

