One Week: No Bikram

As you read this I am in another state in a city with no Bikram yoga. I’m not even sure what yoga they have where I am, and I’m not sure if I’ll have time to get to it or if I can get it (I’m without car this time). What I do know for certain is that for exactly seven days I will not be taking class.

Normally I just roll with this because I like to travel. I’m ok with not practicing at all or practicing very little when I’m traveling. This time, the travel is for work so it would be difficult to sneak out to class, plus I kinda wanna be here doing what I’m doing anyways.

But this time I am sad. Since my studio is closing I feel like I am really missing out on this week. I wish I could cap the whole thing off with a 30-Day challenge. And while I could get up and do Bikram every day in my hotel room, it would be more meaningful to me to do the challenge in the actual studio.

If you’ve never taken time away from class it can be both interesting and refreshing. Sometimes it’s nice to get out of the studio and just do something else completely. Give your body a break. Give your mind a break. But don’t just drop out of your practice. Have a plan for when you expect to go back to class. For example, I know that in this current case I will be returning back to class on Sunday. I knew that before I even left town. So if you take a break – for whatever reason – make sure you have it in your head when you expect to get back in the hot room. Otherwise, you might fall out of the habit of going (I imagine it could be surprisingly easy to do so).

For now, I will enjoy some early morning and evening walks. If I start to feel a bit twitchy I might hunt down a massage or any kind of yoga I can get my hands on. I know when I get back my studio will have just two weeks left.

That is painful to think about.

Three Years Ago Today on MBYL

Two Years Ago Today on MBYL

One Year Ago Today on MBYL

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Bill Affourtit (@waffourt)
    Aug 10, 2015 @ 14:35:21

    One Week: No Bikram – http://t.co/IDK6g7tMqW via @shareaholic

    Reply

Leave a Reply

