Retro Throwback: Quinoa Chickpea & Avocado Salad

On Sundays, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago.

My days have gotten pretty busy lately leaving me little time to want to cook. If you feel the same, I suggest checking out this amazing Quinoa Chickpea and Avocado Salad. This dish is vegan and it will hold well in the fridge for a week. The dish takes about 30 minutes to make (this doesn’t count the time it takes for the quinoa to cool before adding it to the salad). I suggest making the quinoa in the afternoon then returning to finish off the salad when it’s at room temperature.

Because I wanted this recipe to last for multiple meals, I made a bit more quinoa than what the recipe calls for. Rather than make one cup, I made two and found it to be more than enough. The easy thing about this salad is that you can then adjust the remainder of the ingredients to your taste for however much quinoa you decide to use.

I had bought an avocado, but decided to not include it in the salad. Avocados drive me nuts. They go bad pretty quickly, and I hate dealing with leftovers and trying to figure out how not to get it to turn brown. So, rather than add avocado to my salad I whipped up avocado mayo (also vegan), and used it as a spread on some french bread.  It was delicious, and the mayo keeps for up to two weeks. This is a recipe to know as it is a great way to use up avocados and get some extended life from them. I always add in more garlic and onion powder than what is recommended. Just make it to your taste.

The salad does not get soggy. It travels well. During the last week, I took it with me to work for lunch and I had it for dinner after class. I am fine eating it straight from the fridge. A glass of white wine goes well with it. Enjoy!

004

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Bill Affourtit (@waffourt)
    Aug 16, 2015 @ 21:16:14

    Retro Throwback: Quinoa Chickpea & Avocado Salad :: My Bikram Yoga Life http://t.co/fWPh5PB1X4

    Reply

Leave a Reply

